Skip to main content

Articles: Get Full Text with the Find It Button

A guide to finding, identifying, and using different types of articles designed and created by Clark Librarians

Find It Button

Clark Libraries offers many periodical databases to locate articles. Many of the articles are full text but some of the articles are citations only.  However, you may be able to locate the full text article by using the "Find It" button when searching in EBSCOhost databases or ProQuest. In ProQuest, the "Find It" button is on the article citation page, and in EBSCOhost databases it is on the detailed record of an article.

Here are two examples of what the "Find It" button looks like in both ProQuest and EBSCOhost databases:

Find It button in EBSCOhost and ProQuest databases

Once you click on the "Find It" button you will be redirected to the Clark College Libraries Catalog.

Full Text Available

Notice "Fulltext available" shows up in green. This indicates that you have access to the full text. In the "View It" section below you can click on any of the database names that show up to access the article. In the example below, I can click on EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier, EBSCOhost CINAHL with Full Text, or EBSCOhost PsycARTICLES.

Article record with full text available

Sometimes the database links may take you to a journal home page or an error page instead of directly to your article. You may have to re-search in the database using your article's title to find the full text. If you have any problems accessing the full text, please ask a librarian!

Full Text Not Available

Sometimes we don't have access to the full text article instantly but you can request the article using Interlibrary Loan. Here is what that would look like in the library catalog:

Article record with no full text available and sign in link in red box

Once you sign in using your username and password, you will see a link to request the article in the Get It section. (see below). Click the link and fill in your information to request the article.

Click the Request article link once you've signed in

If you do not see an option to sign in, you will need to search for the article's title again in the library catalog using the Expand My Results option. Watch this short video to see how: http://www.screencast.com/t/eABHKkVE. If you have any problems requesting the full text, please ask a librarian!

Ask a Librarian

facebook  twitter   flickr    blog youtube maps