Skip to main content

ECON 201 Company Research Project (Atkinson): Home

Library information and resources for Patricia Atkinson's ECON 201 class

Fall 2017

Winter 2018
The purpose of this guide is to provide students with instruction and resources to successfully complete the ECON& 201 Company Project. After working through these guide pages students should be able to locate and identify scientific sources that are both credible and appropriate.

Project at-a-Glance

Students will be researching the SWOTT of two (2) assigned companies with microeconomic and social justice implications, demonstrating course outcomes. Base analysis on the most current economic statistics available.  Students should check their Canvas shell for more details.

Companies:

  • Coca Cola/Pepsi
  • Target/ Kroger
  • Ford/Tesla
  • Nike/Under Armour
  • Exxon Mobil/Chevron
  • Costco/Walmart
  • Amazon/Walmart
  • Apple/Microsoft

Tentative schedule:

Jan. 16: Librarian will visit classes.

Jan. 18: Your companies are assigned.

Jan. 30: Submit initial 4 questions about your topic

  • Two questions should address what you will specifically research about microeconomics for your two companies.
  • Two questions should specifically address what you will research about social justice for your two companies.

Feb. 13: Submit citations for 8 sources, in APA format, (first attempt)

  • Make use of the APA Style guide.
  • Make use of the research librarians.
  • Make use of the web links provided.
  • Remember to include the type of source before beginning the citation!
  • Remember you can resubmit one more time for review for full credit!

Feb. 20: Recommended due date for resubmission of citations for 8 sources (second attempt).

Feb. 27: Final due date for all resubmissions of citations for 8 sources (third attempt).

Mar. 1: Annotated bibliography for 4 best sources due. (Late annotations due by Dec. 2).

  • 2 must be on a microeconomic issue
  • 2 must be on a social justice issue
  • Even if your citations were not correct from the 8, make sure you have corrected these final four when you submit!

Mar. 17: Final Group Paper and Presentation due.

graphic of SWOTT: Strength, weaknesseses, opportunities, threats, trendsImage source: http://www.agiledge.com

Types of Sources

For this assignment, you can use the following types of sources:

  • Company Annual Reports
  • Company SEC filings
  • No more than one (1) article from an encyclopedia, and then only if the article has relevant business information.
    • Gale Virtual Reference Library is a great databases to use  for finding information about companies in credible subject encyclopedias.
  • Articles from business journals, located using library databases or online search sites (like google scholar)
    • It is likely that you will find articles that are not available in full text. You may use the abstract for the initial 8 articles. For the final 4, you must have the full text. You can also use the "Find It" feature in library databases to have the full-text of an article emailed to you. 
    • Business articles can be a challenge to read. See the tab called "How to Peer-Reviewed Journal Article" for help.
  • Relevant, academic books, including textbooks. Cannell Library has access to many up-to-date print books and ebooks. You can also borrow books from 38 other university and college libraries through the library catalog. See the "Introduction to Clark Libraries Catalog" tab. 
  • Articles from reputable newspapers, such as the Oregonian, Columbian, Wall Street Journal, New York Times.
  • Articles from business-related magazines (journals of opinion) such as the Economist, Forbes, etc.
  • Credible web sites. For tips in determining credibility, see the tab for Evaluating Information.
  • NOT Wikipedia! 

Ask a Librarian

   Email

   Call

  24/7 Chat

    Visit

The libraries' physical locations are closed until Clark College resumes face-to-face campus activities.

Meet the Librarians

facebook  twitter   blog youtube maps