Skip to main content

ECON 202 - Macroeconomics (Atkinson): Home

Library information and resources for Patricia Atkinson's ECON 202 class
Winter 2019
The purpose of this guide is to provide students with instruction and resources to successfully complete the ECON& 202 Financial Literacy Project. After working through these guide pages students should be able to locate and identify sources that are both credible and appropriate.

Project Description

Project Description

Students will research a topic and demonstrate their findings in a paper and in-class presentation.  The group project will demonstrate the course outcomes:

  • Apply concepts of scarcity, choice, economic interactions, comparative advantage and trade;
  • describe and analyze the measurement of the macro economy;
  • apply the concept of Macroeconomic Equilibrium determination of equilibrium price level and output using Aggregate Demand and Aggregate Supply;
  • describe and evaluate Monetary and Fiscal Policy and the Multiplier concept; and
  • demonstrate application of the relevant school of economic thought.

Students will base their analysis on the most current economic statistics available.   

Requirements

  • Topic may consist of an analysis of the US economy and its influence on a company, or analysis of the US economy compared to another nation's economy.
  • Topic is subject to instructor approval in writing.

Project at-a-Glance

Students will be researching approved topics with social justice implications, demonstrating course outcomes. Base analysis on the most current economic statistics available. Students should check their Canvas shell for more details.

Tentative schedule:

Week 3, 1/22/2019 Form groups / Topics.

1/24/2019 Librarian visits classroom, SHL 102 at 11 am for library & credible source instruction

Week 4,1/29/2019 Day 1: Tuesday Students visit library for research lesson with Librarian

Day 2: Thursday Group's 4 Research Questions Due

Week 5, 2/5/2019

Week 6, 2/12/2019 Submit citations for 8 sources, in APA format, (first attempt)

Week 7, 2/19/2019

2/22/19 Final due date for all resubmissions of citations for 8 sources (third attempt).

Week 8, 2/26/2019  Annotated bibliography for 4 best sources due. (Late annotations due by Feb. 28).  

Week 9, 3/5/2019 

Week 10, 3/12/2019 Group Project Paper and Presentation due.

Final Group Paper, Presentation and Critique due.

Links to Economics Websites

Types of Sources

For the paper and presentation assignment, you can use the following types of sources:

  • No more than one (1) web page. NOT Wikipedia!
  • No more than one (1) article from an encyclopedia, and then only if the article has relevant business information.
    • Gale Virtual Reference Library is a great databases to use  for finding information about companies in credible subject encyclopedias.
  • Articles from business journals, located using library databases or online search sites (like google scholar)
    • It is likely that you will find articles that are not available in full text. You may use the abstract for the initial 8 articles. For the final 4, you must have the full text. You can also use the "Find It" feature in library databases to have the full-text of an article emailed to you.
    • Business articles can be a challenge to read. See the tab called "How to Peer-Reviewed Journal Article" for help.
  • Relevant, academic books, including textbooks. Cannell Library has access to many up-to-date print books and ebooks. You can also borrow books from 38 other university and college libraries through the library catalog. See the "Introduction to Clark Libraries Catalog" tab.
  • Articles from reputable newspapers, such as the Oregonian, Columbian, Wall Street Journal, New York Times.
  • Articles from business-related magazines (journals of opinion) such as the Economist, Forbes, etc.
  • No youtube.com videos.
  • Credible web sites. For tips in determining credibility, see the tab for Evaluating Information.
  • NOT Wikipedia!

Ask a Librarian

   Email

   Call

  24/7 Chat

    Visit

The libraries' physical locations are closed until Clark College resumes face-to-face campus activities.

Meet the Librarians

facebook  twitter   blog youtube maps